BioKum Team

German Sustainability Science Summit – Dr. Jana Zscheischler invited to comment on the position paper

On 8 and 9 July 2021, the German Sustainability Summit 2021 took place as an interactive virtual event. As part of the Summit, the German Committee for Sustainability Research presented its new position paper, which is to be developed into a joint research agenda for the coming years. Dr. Jana… Read More »German Sustainability Science Summit – Dr. Jana Zscheischler invited to comment on the position paper

Publication: Bioeconomy and Social-Ecological Transformation

Newly published study analyses bioeconomic innovations in terms of their contribution to a socio-ecological transformation The current environmental crises underline the urgent need for a global socio-ecological transformation of the agricultural and food system. In this context, the bioeconomy and bioeconomic innovations are often seen as an instrument for more… Read More »Publication: Bioeconomy and Social-Ecological Transformation

Black Soldier Fly. Source:: Pixabay.

Interviews underway for the sub-project “Insects in the bioeconomy”

In the scope of the BioKum sub-project „Insects in the Bioeconomy“, Ingrid Bunker has started carrying out interviews. The aim of the interviews is to explore the soceital acceptibility of cultivating insects on manure and the use of insects as protein-rich feed and to capture the attitudes, opinions, and concerns… Read More »Interviews underway for the sub-project “Insects in the bioeconomy”

Jana Zscheischler awarded with “Transformative Science” research prize

Dr. Jana Zscheischler has received the research award for “Transformative Science” of the Wuppertal Institute. The co-leader of BioKum convinced the jury with her theoretically sound research as well as methodical and practical implementation. Her work on the potential in sustainable land management is particularly emphasized. The “Transformative Science” research… Read More »Jana Zscheischler awarded with “Transformative Science” research prize

Another milestone reached

BioKum has reached another milestone, compiling a catalog of bioeconomic innovations and options to reduce nitrogen inputs and greenhouse gases. At present, 81 specific options have been included that intervene in management at farm level as well as in inter- or extra-farm level, and can thus have a positive and… Read More »Another milestone reached

Interviews started

As part of the data collection for his dissertation, Jonathan Friedrich has been conducting interviews with various actors since the beginning of June. The aim is to cover the broadest possible range of actors in order to explore the multiple and different perspectives on the topic of manure. Thematically, the… Read More »Interviews started

Annual conference of the German Society for Human Ecology

This year’s DGH annual conference took place from May 7th to 9th 2020, on the subject of “Digitization and sustainability. Human-ecological aspects”.In this context, Dr. Jana Zscheischler was invited to present first results from the transdisciplinary process in the DiDaT project on the socially responsible handling of digital data in… Read More »Annual conference of the German Society for Human Ecology

Conference of the “New Cultural Geography” (NKG) in Bonn/ Germany

From January 30th to February 1st 2020, the conference “New Cultural Geography” took place for the 17th time, this year in Bonn. The motto of the conference was “Technocultures and Technoscapes”. In this context, Jonathan Friedrich gave a presentation entitled “Making gold out of shit? – a critical reflection on… Read More »Conference of the “New Cultural Geography” (NKG) in Bonn/ Germany

Research Stay at Manaaki Whenua Landcare in Lincoln / Aotearoa New Zealand

Like Germany, New Zealand has problems with high nutrient surpluses resulting from intensive livestock farming.Over the course of three weeks, Dr. Jana Zscheischler visited colleagues at Manaaki Whenua Landcare and at Lincoln University to exchange experiences, discuss different solutions and explore future cooperation opportunities. Photo: The eutrophication of rivers and… Read More »Research Stay at Manaaki Whenua Landcare in Lincoln / Aotearoa New Zealand

BioKum Team

German Sustainability Science Summit – Jana Zscheischler kommentiert Positionspapier

Am 8. und 9. Juli 2021 fand der German Sustainability Summit 2021 als interaktive virtuelle Veranstaltung statt. Im Rahmen des Summits präsentierte das Deutsche Komitee für Nachhaltigkeitsforschung sein neues Positionspapier, das zu einer gemeinsamen Forschungsagenda für die kommenden Jahre entwickelt werden soll. Dr. Jana Zscheischler (ZALF) war eingeladen, das Positionspapier… Weiterlesen »German Sustainability Science Summit – Jana Zscheischler kommentiert Positionspapier

Veröffentlichung: Bioökonomie und Sozial-ökologische Transformation

Neue Veröffentlichung analysiert bioökonomische Innovationen hinsichtlich ihres Beitrags für eine sozial-ökologische Transformation. Die aktuellen Umweltkrisen unterstreichen die dringende Notwendigkeit einer globalen sozial-ökologischen Transformation des Agrar- und Ernährungssystems. In diesem Zusammenhang werden die Bioökonomie und bioökonomische Innovationen häufig als Instrument für eine nachhaltigere Landnutzung gesehen. Die Frage, inwieweit bioökonomische Innovationen zu… Weiterlesen »Veröffentlichung: Bioökonomie und Sozial-ökologische Transformation

Black Soldier Fly. Source:: Pixabay.

Insekten in der Bioökonomie: Interviewreihe gestartet

Im Rahmen des BioKum-Teilprojekts „Insekten in der Bioökonomie“ hat Ingrid Bunker mit der Durchführung von Interviews begonnen. Ziel der Interviews ist, die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz zur Kultivierung von Insekten auf Gülle und die Nutzung von (auf Gülle kultivierten) Insekten als Tierfutter einschließlich Sichtweisen, Einschätzungen, Argumentationen und wahrgenommene Risiken verschiedener Akteure zu dieser… Weiterlesen »Insekten in der Bioökonomie: Interviewreihe gestartet

Dr. Jana Zscheischler erhält Forschungspreis für „Transformative Wissenschaft“

Dr. Jana Zscheischler erhält den Forschungspreis des Wuppertal Instituts für „Transformative Wissenschaft“. Die Co-Leiterin von BioKum überzeugte die Jury durch ihre theoretisch fundierte Forschung sowie methodische und praxisnahe Umsetzung. Besonders hervorgehoben wird ihre Arbeit zu den Potenzialen im nachhaltigen Landmanagement. Der mit 25.000 Euro dotierte Forschungspreis „Transformative Wissenschaft“ des Wuppertal… Weiterlesen »Dr. Jana Zscheischler erhält Forschungspreis für „Transformative Wissenschaft“

Buchneuerscheinung zum Nachhaltigen Landmanagement

Der Sammelband „Sustainable Land Management in a European Context – a Co-Design Approach“ ist neu beim Springer-Verlag erschienenen. Das Buch verknüpft unterschiedliche Perspektiven zu Gestaltungsfragen einer nachhaltigeren Landnutzung und liefert einen Überblick über aktuelle Diskussionen. Auf über 350 Seiten werden Lösungsansätze für das Landmanagement im europäischen Kontext vorgestellt und diskutiert.… Weiterlesen »Buchneuerscheinung zum Nachhaltigen Landmanagement

Weiterer Meilenstein erreicht

BioKum hat einen weiteren Meilenstein erreicht und einen Katalog bioökonomischer Innovationen und Optionen zur Reduzierung von Stickstoffeinträgen und Treibhausgasen zusammengestellt. Derzeit sind 81 konkrete Möglichkeiten aufgenommen worden, die sowohl in das Management auf Farmebene als auch auf zwischen- oder extrabetrieblicher Ebene eingreifen und somit die Nährstoffflüsse direkt als auch indirekt positiv… Weiterlesen »Weiterer Meilenstein erreicht

Interviews mit verschiedenen Akteuren gestartet

Im Rahmen der Datenerhebung für seine Dissertation führt Jonathan Friedrich seit Anfang Juni Interviews mit verschiedenen Akteuren. Dabei soll eine möglichst große Bandbreite an Akteuren abgedeckt werden, um die multiplen und verschiedenen Perspektiven auf die Gülle-Thematik zu erkunden. Thematisch liegt der Fokus dabei auf den verschiedenen Zukunftsvisionen dieser Akteure und… Weiterlesen »Interviews mit verschiedenen Akteuren gestartet

Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Humanökologie

Zum Thema „Digitalisierung und Nachhaltigkeit – Humanökologische Aspekte“ fand die diesjährige DGH-Jahrestagung vom 7. Bis 9. Mai 2020 statt. In diesem Rahmen war Dr. Jana Zscheischler eingeladen, erste Ergebnisse aus dem transdisziplinären Prozess im Projekt DiDaT zum sozial-verantwortlichen Umgang mit digitalen Daten in der Landwirtschaft vorzustellen. Ihr Fazit: „Die Digitalisierung… Weiterlesen »Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Humanökologie

Präsentation auf der NKG (Neue Kulturgeographie) in Bonn

Vom 30.01.2020 bis zum 01.02.2020 fand die Konferenz „Neue Kulturgeographie“ zum 17. Mal, in diesem Jahr in Bonn, statt. Die Konferenz stand unter dem Motto „Technocultures und Technoscapes“. Jonathan Friedrich hielt in diesem Zusammenhang eine Präsentation unter dem Titel „Aus Scheiße Gold machen? –eine kritische Reflektion aktueller Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen zur Lösung… Weiterlesen »Präsentation auf der NKG (Neue Kulturgeographie) in Bonn

Forschungsaufenthalt am Manaaki Whenua Landcare in Lincoln/ Aotearoa New Zealand

Ähnlich wie Deutschland hat Neuseeland das Problem der Nährstoffüberschüsse resultierend aus einer zu intensiven Viehwirtschaft. Für drei Wochen besuchte Dr. Jana Zscheischler Kolleg*innen am Manaaki Whenua Landcare und an der Lincoln University, um Erfahrungen auszutauschen, unterschiedliche Lösungsansätze zu diskutieren und zukünftige Kooperationsmöglichkeiten zu sondieren. Photo: The eutrophication of rivers and… Weiterlesen »Forschungsaufenthalt am Manaaki Whenua Landcare in Lincoln/ Aotearoa New Zealand